Quick and Easy Pick-Me-Ups for Knock-You-Down Days

Hello everyone!

Today I’m feeling a bit “bleh.”  So I thought I’d write a quick post on how to pick yourself up on those days when life is knocking ya’ down.  3 quick tips…Here goes:

Step 1

First things first, stop beating yourself up.  Some days are just a bit rubbish and they’re not made any better by that annoying little internal critic telling you to suck it up and get on with it.  Internal critic…Zip it! Life’s hard and, as any keen twitterer will tell you, #TheStruggleIsReal.  So be gentle with yourself. You’re doing the best you can.

Sometimes it’s hard to give yourself permission not to be super-human but you can’t get it all right all the time. You don’t have to either.  Frankly, you don’t even have to get most of it right, most of the time.  If you’re not feeling tip-top, try showing yourself a little patience and kindness.  If you wouldn’t say it to a small child, don’t say it to yourself.

Step 2:

Self-soothe.  This is a technique used in a kind of therapy called DBT (Dialectical Behaviour Therapy), but it’s a fab pick-me-up for anyone in need of TLC.  

It’s a simple but effective principle: engaging in a (safe) activity or behaviour that you find soothing and comforting.  Naturally, that’ll vary from person to person, but here are
a few ideas…

  • Taking a little time out to curl up with a cuppa, snuggly blanket and a book/magazine/cheery film. Maybe light a scented candle and put on your favourite tunes.
  • Giving yourself (or getting) a manicure/facial.
  • A relaxing bath or shower with some nice smellies.
  • Playing with your pet (or in the absence of a pet, typing “cute animals” into pinterest.  Yeah -I do this- don’t knock it till you’ve tried it.

kaboompics.com_Yawning dog under a blanket

Step 3: 

Gratitude.  This can be a tricky one, but trust me folks, it’s effective.  Finding things in your life that you’re grateful for can be easier said than done when life’s bein’ a b*tch.

But it’s worth putting your mind to it and having a mental rummage around for anything and everything that’s actually going well.  Good cuppa coffee in bed this morning? That’ll do! Beggars can’t be choosers-savour the small things till the big ‘uns come right!

kaboompics.com_Happy Coffee

Try making a list of, say, 5 each day (no matter how small), and you’ll soon notice a difference in your mood and your general perspective on things.  Worth a try eh?

I hope this helps-let me know in the comments if you’d like to see more posts like this and I’ll see what I can do 🙂

Till next time 🙂

xx

2 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Pick-Me-Ups for Knock-You-Down Days

  1. As someone who has a tendency to feel “bleh” I can relate with you, one of the things I do when I’m feeling bad is just relaxing on my bed. Doing nothing for a couple of minutes and remembering that emotions are like waves that come and go, that helps me a lot to break the cycle of negative thoughts that are sometimes too hard to beat.

    Nice post, I would like seeing more of these so we can share our points of view and the things that have worked for us.

    Pol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting 🙂 Viewing emotions like waves is a really good idea-I’ll try that 🙂 I think I’ve heard of a similar technique somewhere before-when you accept the emotions and let them come and go rather than trying to resist them and struggle against them. I’m glad you enjoyed it-It’s always nice to know someone is reading lol Love the tip sharing 🙂 I’ll see what else I can come up with. Rose 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

