Free Mood-Lifting Online Resources: Review of “The Honest Guys” Guided Meditations

kaboompics.com_Summer landscape with sea and horizon over water

Hello everyone! How are we all?

Today I thought I’d begin reviewing some of my favourite, tried-and-tested online resources for managing mental health, improving mood and promoting self care.  I’m beginning with The Honest Guys Guided Meditation Videos.  

The Honest Guys are a YouTube pair who produce the most amazing “guided meditations and relaxation music/tools.” They really are fantastic-if you’re feeling crappy (#KeepinItReal), fire up your laptop and whack one of these on. There’s so much choice, so there’s something for everyone. The voice is so soothing and they honestly lift my mood and calm me down like nothing else.  They have some wonderful ones for help with trouble sleeping too.

If you’re thinking: “Meditation? No I can’t! My mind is too busy, I get bored easily, I can’t focus that long…” then I urge you to give these a go anyway.  I felt exactly the same, but these guided meditations are engaging enough to occupy my ever-wandering attention and quiet my (very messy) little mind.

Here are a few of my favourites:  

The Sanctuary

This is perfect for those times when you need to close the door on reality and escape to a calm and safe place. You are guided into visualising yourself enjoying the comfort of a cosy little cottage sanctuary where you can come, any time, to shut yourself away from the stresses of the world outside.

Blissful Relaxation

This meditation is set against a backdrop of a beach at sunset, the sound of calming waves gently lapping at the idyllic golden shores (yeah- it’s that good).  There are some relaxing breathing exercises followed by a calming countdown leading you gently into a state of complete relaxation.  If you feel like your mind may be about to explode, this is the one for you.

Clearing Negativity

This meditation has actually moved me to tears before.  If you carry around a lot of shame, feelings of low self-esteem and are generally pretty darn hard on yourself, then I highly recommend this video.  You are asked to visualise a guardian or protector-like figure with whom you can share all your fears and anxieties. You are invited to unburden yourself completely, before confiding in them your hopes and longings.  This feels, to me, like a  truly safe and comforting space.  If you are feeling emotionally fragile, it may be just what you need.

The Party in the Shire Series

Bear with me on this one.  I am not the biggest Lord of the Rings fan (I enjoyed the films, but I’m not especially enamoured with them).  However, these story-like meditations, guide you into a series of encounters with Tolkien’s Hobbit folk in the peace of the lush, green Shire, and are a truly lovely way to escape stressful realities.

I’m not sure what about this series appeals so greatly to me, but being curled up in complete comfort by a crackling fire in a friendly atmosphere belonging to a whole other dimension seems to really float my meditative boat.  Don’t knock it till you’ve tried it! 🙂

A big thank you to The Honest Guys for producing these, very professional and effective, free resources.  Let me know in the comments what you think of them or if you have any online resources, blogs, downloads etc. to recommend (including your own: self-promotion very much allowed/encouraged, if you’ve got it, flaunt it 😉 ).

Till next time 🙂

xx

Leave a Reply

